Cited by 43Sports Performance and TrainingCardiovascular and exercise physiologyMuscle metabolism and nutrition

Acute and chronic loading of sodium bicarbonate in highly trained swimmers

Joyce, Sarah, Minahan, Clare, Anderson, Megan, Osborne, Mark·2012·European Journal of Applied Physiology

Abstract

In the present study, 200-m swim time in highly trained male swimmers was measured on two consecutive days (Trial 1 and Trial 2) and under three conditions [(1) acute loading, AcL; (2) chronic loading, ChL; (3) Placebo, PLA]. No sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO(3)) was administered between Trial 1 and Trial 2 under each condition. Blood lactate concentration ([La(-)]), base excess of extracellular fluid (BE(ecf)), plasma bicarbonate concentration ([HCO(3) (-)]) and pH were determined before and after capsule administration as well as at 0, 3, 5, 15 and 30 min after each 200-m swim trial. Swim time was not different among AcL, ChL or PLA for Trial 1 or 2 and we observed no change in 200-m swim time from Trial 1 to 2 under any condition (F = 0.48, P = 0.80). [HCO(3) (-)], pH and BE(ecf) measured after capsule administration was higher during AcL and ChL when compared with PLA (P 0.05). The results indicate that acute and chronic loading of NaHCO(3) does not improve 200-m swim time in highly trained male swimmers.

Integrity signals

Registry

Crossref · 10.1007/s00421-011-1995-z

Cites

24 of 24 references verified0 citation errors · 0 not checkable

Statistics

Recomputing p-values needs the paper’s full text.

Claims the paper makes

This paper’s full text isn’t openly available, so its claims and self-check weren’t run. The registry and citation checks still apply.

Claims other papers make about this one

Each is checked against this paper’s own text: does it say what the citing paper says it does?

  • Some studies did not find significant differences between sodium bicarbonate and placebo conditions.

    “However, the findings are equivocal, and some studies did not find significant differences between sodium bicarbonate and placebo conditions (Joyce et al., 2012; Driller et al., 2013).”
  • The remaining two acute-versus-chronic investigations assessed GIS on days of supplementation leading up to exercise testing, with Joyce et al. 2012 assessing GIS before capsule ingestion and Aktitiz et al. 2024 assessing GIS 90 minutes after the second (evening) dose.

    “The remaining two investigations did additionally assess GIS on days of supplementation leading up to exercise testing, though somewhat puzzlingly, Joyce and colleagues (Joyce et al. 2012) assessed GIS before capsule ingestion, while (Aktitiz et al. 2024) assessed GIS 90 minutes after the second (evening) dose.”
  • Only Joyce et al. 2012 included any statistical analysis on GIS between conditions among the acute-versus-chronic studies and found no differences in severity scores between the three conditions on any day (p > 0.05).

    “Only (Joyce et al. 2012) included any statistical analysis on GIS between conditions and found no differences in severity scores between the three conditions on any day (p > 0.05).”
  • Chronic sodium bicarbonate doses in the acute-versus-chronic studies were most commonly administered over 3 days (Driller et al. 2012; Carr et al. 2012; Joyce et al. 2012), though four-day (Aktitiz et al. 2024) and five-day (Zhou, Fan, Kong, et al. 2022) protocols were present.

    “Chronic doses were most commonly administered over 3 days (Driller et al. 2012; Carr et al. 2012; Joyce et al. 2012), though four‐day (Aktitiz et al. 2024) and five‐day (Zhou, Fan, Kong, et al. 2022) protocols were present.”
  • Three of the five acute-versus-chronic investigations provided sodium bicarbonate in capsules (Driller et al. 2012; Carr et al. 2012; Joyce et al. 2012), while another described the treatments as 'enteric-coated' but did not specify if they were capsules or tablets (Zhou, Fan, Kong, et al. 2022).

    “Three of these investigations provided sodium bicarbonate in capsules (Driller et al. 2012; Carr et al. 2012; Joyce et al. 2012), while another one described the treatments as “enteric‐coated” but did not specify if they were capsules or tablets (Zhou, Fan, Kong, et al. 2022).”

Cites

Flagged first, then by citations

Cited by

Sorted by citations

Authors
Joyce, S., Minahan, C., Anderson, M., & Osborne, M.
Affiliations
  • Griffith University (AU)
  • Queensland Academy of Sport (AU)
Corresponding author
Minahan, Clare
Venue
European Journal of Applied Physiology
Published
2011-05-17
Volume
112
Issue
2
Pages
461-469
ISSN
  • 0020-9376 (ISSN-L)
  • 1439-6319
  • 1439-6327
OpenAlex
W2120295463
Cited by
42
References
24
Citations by year
2026: 1 · 2025: 1 · 2024: 6 · 2023: 2 · 2022: 3 · 2021: 7 · 2020: 1 · 2019: 3 · 2018: 4 · 2017: 3 · 2016: 2 · 2014: 1 · 2013: 5 · 2012: 2
FWCI
3.05
Type
journal article
Language
en
Open access
closed
Locations
  • European Journal of Applied Physiology (publishedVersion)
  • PubMed (publishedVersion)
  • Griffith Research Online (submittedVersion)
Topics
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Orthopedics and Sports Medicine › Sports Performance and Training
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Complementary and alternative medicine › Cardiovascular and exercise physiology
  • Life Sciences › Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology › Cell Biology › Muscle metabolism and nutrition
Keywords
sodium bicarbonate, swimmers, blood lactate, plasma bicarbonate, blood pH, endurance performance, highly trained athletes
MeSH terms
Administration, Oral, Dose-Response Relationship, Drug, Physical Exertion, Humans, Male, Swimming, Task Performance and Analysis, Sodium Bicarbonate, Young Adult

About these checks

Registry, retraction, Cites and statistics results are computed, not judged, with one exception: a printed reference that no index lists is read once by a model before it counts as a citation error. Claims are extracted by a model and kept only when their quote appears verbatim in the text; each cited source is then checked, with a model’s help, for whether it says what the claim relies on. Those verdicts can be wrong — read the claim’s quote and the cited source before relying on one.

Statistics and arithmetic are recomputed, not judged.

Confidence bands are shown only for fields calibrated on our annotated test set. None is calibrated yet, so no band is shown.

What counts as a claim ›How we measure confidence ›How we check this ›

Are you an author, or do you see a problem with this page? Request a review