Cited by 1,061Lung Cancer Treatments and MutationsLung Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentLung Cancer Research Studies

Adagrasib in Non–Small-Cell Lung Cancer Harboring a KRAS G12C Mutation

Open access
Jänne, Pasi A., Riely, Gregory J., Gadgeel, Shirish M., Heist, Rebecca S., Ou, Sai-Hong I., Pacheco, Jose M., Johnson, Melissa L., Sabari, Joshua K. +14 more·2022·New England Journal of Medicine

Abstract

BACKGROUND: , locking it in its inactive state. Adagrasib showed clinical activity and had an acceptable adverse-event profile in the phase 1-1b part of the KRYSTAL-1 phase 1-2 study. METHODS: -mutated non-small-cell lung cancer (NSCLC) previously treated with platinum-based chemotherapy and anti-programmed death 1 or programmed death ligand 1 therapy. The primary end point was objective response assessed by blinded independent central review. Secondary end points included the duration of response, progression-free survival, overall survival, and safety. RESULTS: -mutated NSCLC had been treated (median follow-up, 12.9 months); 98.3% had previously received both chemotherapy and immunotherapy. Of 112 patients with measurable disease at baseline, 48 (42.9%) had a confirmed objective response. The median duration of response was 8.5 months (95% confidence interval [CI], 6.2 to 13.8), and the median progression-free survival was 6.5 months (95% CI, 4.7 to 8.4). As of January 15, 2022 (median follow-up, 15.6 months), the median overall survival was 12.6 months (95% CI, 9.2 to 19.2). Among 33 patients with previously treated, stable central nervous system metastases, the intracranial confirmed objective response rate was 33.3% (95% CI, 18.0 to 51.8). Treatment-related adverse events occurred in 97.4% of the patients - grade 1 or 2 in 52.6% and grade 3 or higher in 44.8% (including two grade 5 events) - and resulted in drug discontinuation in 6.9% of patients. CONCLUSIONS: -mutated NSCLC, adagrasib showed clinical efficacy without new safety signals. (Funded by Mirati Therapeutics; ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03785249.).

The claims and statistics of this paper haven’t been checked yet.

Run the check — free, no account needed. It reads the open-access text and checks the sources it cites.

A few free checks a day · papers already verified open instantly · results are public

Integrity signals

Registry

Crossref · 10.1056/nejmoa2204619

Cites

27 of 27 references verified0 citation errors · 0 not checkable

Statistics

Claims the paper makes

The claims and statistics of this paper haven’t been checked yet.

Run the check — free, no account needed. It reads the open-access text and checks the sources it cites.

A few free checks a day · papers already verified open instantly · results are public

Claims other papers make about this one

Each is checked against this paper’s own text: does it say what the citing paper says it does?

  • The clinical response data indicate rapid development of acquired resistance to KRAS G12C inhibitors.

    “These results indicate the rapid development of acquired resistance to KRAS G12C inhibitors [18, 26, 27, 49].”

    From Differential Response and Resistance to KRAS-Targeted Therapy (2025) · cites this paper as [27]

    The Secondary Efficacy End Points report a median response duration of 8.5 months and median progression-free survival of 6.5 months, consistent with relatively short-lived benefit from adagrasib. The paper does not establish that progression was caused by acquired resistance, or show that the finding applies to KRAS G12C inhibitors generally. Page numbers were not provided for these passages. (LLM, conf=0.82)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • The data from CodeBreak 100 for sotorasib and KRYSTAL-1 for adagrasib led to the approval of these inhibitors to treat G12C-mutant NSCLC.

    “The data from both CodeBreak 100 for sotorasib and KRYSTAL-1 for adagrasib led to the approval of these inhibitors to treat G12C-mutant NSCLC [51,53,94].”

    From KRAS: Biology, Inhibition, and Mechanisms of Inhibitor Resistance (2024) · cites this paper as [94]

    The Discussion reports that sotorasib had been approved for metastatic KRAS G12C-mutated NSCLC on the basis of response data. The Abstract identifies this paper as reporting a registrational KRYSTAL-1 cohort for adagrasib, but the paper does not state that those data led to adagrasib’s approval or identify CodeBreaK 100 by name. (LLM, conf=0.88)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • Inactive-state KRASG12C inhibitors adagrasib and sotorasib achieve anti-tumor response rates of 37-43% in NSCLC patients, with most patients experiencing disease progression 6-12 months after starting therapy.

    “In clinical trials, the inactive-state KRASG12C mutant-specific inhibitors adagrasib (MRTX849) and sotorasib (AMG510) achieved 37–43% anti-tumor response rates in NSCLC patients with most experiencing disease progression 6–12 months after initiation of therapy7–9.”

    From Combined inhibition of KRASG12C and mTORC1 kinase is synergistic in non-small cell lung cancer (2024) · cites this paper as [8]

    The Discussion reports objective response rates of 37.1% for sotorasib and 42.9% for adagrasib; the Abstract says adagrasib locks KRAS G12C in its inactive state. The Secondary Efficacy End Points section reports median progression-free survival of 6.5 months for adagrasib, but the paper does not establish that most patients receiving either drug experienced disease progression specifically 6–12 months after starting therapy. Page numbers are unavailable in our copy. (LLM, conf=0.84)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • STK11/LKB1 loss and KEAP1 mutations may contribute to lack of response to different therapies including anti-PD-(L)1 immune checkpoint inhibitors and KRASG12C inhibitors.

    “STK11/LKB1 loss and KEAP1 mutations may contribute to lack of response to different therapies including anti-PD-(L)1 immune checkpoint inhibitors9,10 and KRASG12C inhibitors3,4.”

    From LKB1 regulates JNK-dependent stress signaling and apoptotic dependency of KRAS-mutant lung cancers (2025) · cites this paper as [3]

    The Exploratory Biomarker Analyses (page not specified) report a lower response rate to adagrasib in patients with a KEAP1 co-mutation and wild-type STK11. They do not show a comparable lack of response associated with STK11 alterations; responses occurred across the STK11/KEAP1-defined groups. Citations 9 and 10, not this source, are attached to the checkpoint-inhibitor portion of the sentence. (LLM, conf=0.84)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • For adagrasib, an overall response rate was 23.0% in CRC, compared to 42.8% in NSCLC.

    “For adagrasib, an ORR was 23.0% in CRC, compared to 42.8% in NSCLC (Table 1) [27, 48].”

    From Differential Response and Resistance to KRAS-Targeted Therapy (2025) · cites this paper as [27]

    The Primary End Point section reports a 42.9% objective response rate in patients with NSCLC, close to but not the stated 42.8%. The paper does not report the claimed 23.0% response rate in colorectal cancer, so it does not support the full comparison. (LLM, conf=0.88)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured

Self-check

Percentages, sums and reported differences re-computed from the paper’s own numbers.

The self-check needs the paper’s full text.

Cites

Flagged first, then by citations

Research works printed but not linked: 6

  1. [3]3. Nassar AH, Adib E, Kwiatkowski DJ. Distribution of KRAS (G12C) somatic mu- tations across race, sex, and cancer type. N Engl J Med 2021; 384: 185-7.
  2. [12]12. Food and Drug Administration. FDA approves first targeted therapy for lung cancer mutation previously considered re- sistant to drug therapy. May 28, 2021 (https://www . fda . gov/ news -events/ press -announcements/ fda -approves -first -targeted -therapy -lung -cancer -mutation -previously -considered -resistant -drug).
  3. [15]15. Fell JB, Fischer JP, Baer BR, et al. Iden- tification of the clinical development can- didate MRTX849, a covalent KRAS G12C in- hibitor for the treatment of cancer. J Med Chem 2020; 63: 6679-93.
  4. [16]16. Jänne PA, Rybkin I, Spira A, et al. KRYSTAL-1: updated safety and efficacy data with adagrasib (MRTX849) in NSCLC with KRASG12C mutation from a phase 1/2 study. In: Proceedings and Abstracts of the 32nd Annual EORTC-NCI-AACR Symposium, October 24-25, 2020. Brus- sels: European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer, 2020. abstract
  5. [19]19. Weiss J, Yaeger R, Johnson ML, et al. KRYSTAL-1: adagrasib (MRTX849) as monotherapy of in combination with ce- tuximab in patients with colorectal can- cer harboring a KRASG12C mutation. In: Proceedings and Abstracts of the 2021 Annual Meeting of the European Society of Medical Oncology, 2021. September 16-21, 2021. Lugano, Switzerland: Euro- pean Society for Medical Oncology. abstract.
  6. [30]30. Mirati Therapeutics. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) accepts Mirati Therapeutics' new drug application for adagrasib as treatment of previously treat- ed KRASG12C-mutated non-small cell lung cancer. February 15, 2022 (https://ir . mirati . com/ press -releases/ press -release -details/ 2022/ U . S . -Food -and -Drug -Administration -FDA -Accepts -Mirati -Therapeutics -New -Drug -Application -for -Adagrasib -as -Treatment -of -Previously -Treated -KRASG12C -Mutated -Non -Small -Cell -Lung -Cancer/ default . aspx).

Cited by

Sorted by citations

Authors
Jänne, P. A., Riely, G. J., Gadgeel, S. M., Heist, R. S., Ou, S.-H. I., Pacheco, J. M., Johnson, M. L., Sabari, J. K., Leventakos, K., Yau, E., Bazhenova, L., Negrao, M. V., Pennell, N. A., Zhang, J., Anderes, K., Der-Torossian, H., Kheoh, T., Velastegui, K., Yan, X., Christensen, J. G., Chao, R. C., & Spira, A. I.
Affiliations
  • From the Lowe Center for Thoracic Oncology, Dana–Farber Cancer Institute (P.A.J.), and Massachusetts General Hospital (R.S.H.) — both in Boston; the Thoracic Oncology Service, Division of Solid Tumor Oncology, Department of Medicine, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, and Weill Cornell Medical College (G.J.R.), and Perlmutter Cancer Center, New York University Langone Health (J.K.S.), New York, and the Department of Medicine, Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center, Buffalo (E.Y.) — all in New York; the Henry Ford Cancer Institute, Detroit (S.M.G.); the University of California Irvine School of Medicine, Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, Orange (S.-H.I.O.), the University of California San Diego Moores Cancer Center, La Jolla (L.B.), and Mirati Therapeutics, San Diego (K.A., H.D.-T., T.K., K.V., X.Y., J.G.C., R.C.C.) — all in California; the Division of Medical Oncology, Department of Medicine, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Aurora (J.M.P.); Sarah Cannon Research Institute at...
  • Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center (US)
Venue
New England Journal of Medicine
Published
2022-07-14
Volume
387
Issue
2
Pages
120-131
ISSN
  • 0028-4793 (ISSN-L)
  • 1533-4406
OpenAlex
W4281650778
Cited by
1,061
References
27
Citations by year
2026: 247 · 2025: 270 · 2024: 285 · 2023: 203 · 2022: 56
FWCI
131.68
Type
journal article
Language
en
Open access
Locations
  • New England Journal of Medicine (publishedVersion)
  • PubMed (publishedVersion)
Funders
Mirati Therapeutics, Inc.
Topics
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine › Lung Cancer Treatments and Mutations
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine › Lung Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Oncology › Lung Cancer Research Studies
Keywords
adagrasib, KRAS G12C mutation, non-small cell lung cancer, KRAS inhibitors, objective response rate, progression-free survival, overall survival, central nervous system metastasis, treatment-related adverse events, previously treated patients
MeSH terms
Acetonitriles, Antineoplastic Agents, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Humans, Lung Neoplasms, Mutation, Piperazines, Pyrimidines, Proto-Oncogene Proteins p21(ras)

About these checks

Registry, retraction, Cites and statistics results are computed, not judged, with one exception: a printed reference that no index lists is read once by a model before it counts as a citation error. Claims are extracted by a model and kept only when their quote appears verbatim in the text; each cited source is then checked, with a model’s help, for whether it says what the claim relies on. Those verdicts can be wrong — read the claim’s quote and the cited source before relying on one.

Statistics and arithmetic are recomputed, not judged.

Confidence bands are shown only for fields calibrated on our annotated test set. None is calibrated yet, so no band is shown.

What counts as a claim ›How we measure confidence ›How we check this ›

Are you an author, or do you see a problem with this page? Request a review