Cited by 207Pain Management and Opioid UseCannabis and Cannabinoid ResearchPain Mechanisms and Treatments

Comparison of analgesic effects and patient tolerability of nabilone and dihydrocodeine for chronic neuropathic pain: randomised, crossover, double blind study

Open access
Frank, B, Serpell, M G, Hughes, J, Matthews, J N S, Kapur, D·2008·BMJ

Abstract

OBJECTIVE: To compare the analgesic efficacy and side effects of the synthetic cannabinoid nabilone with those of the weak opioid dihydrocodeine for chronic neuropathic pain. DESIGN: Randomised, double blind, crossover trial of 14 weeks' duration comparing dihydrocodeine and nabilone. SETTING: Outpatient units of three hospitals in the United Kingdom. PARTICIPANTS: 96 patients with chronic neuropathic pain, aged 23-84 years. MAIN OUTCOME MEASURES: The primary outcome was difference between nabilone and dihydrocodeine in pain, as measured by the mean visual analogue score computed over the last 2 weeks of each treatment period. Secondary outcomes were changes in mood, quality of life, sleep, and psychometric function. Side effects were measured by a questionnaire. INTERVENTION: Patients received a maximum daily dose of 240 mg dihydrocodeine or 2 mg nabilone at the end of each escalating treatment period of 6 weeks. Treatment periods were separated by a 2 week washout period. Results Mean baseline visual analogue score was 69.6 mm (range 29.4-95.2) on a 0-100 mm scale. 73 patients were included in the available case analysis and 64 patients in the per protocol analysis. The mean score was 6.0 mm longer for nabilone than for dihydrocodeine (95% confidence interval 1.4 to 10.5) in the available case analysis and 5.6 mm (10.3 to 0.8) in the per protocol analysis. Side effects were more frequent with nabilone. CONCLUSION: Dihydrocodeine provided better pain relief than the synthetic cannabinoid nabilone and had slightly fewer side effects, although no major adverse events occurred for either drug. TRIAL REGISTRATION: Current Controlled Trials ISRCTN15330757 controlled-trials.com] .

The claims and statistics of this paper haven’t been checked yet.

Run the check — free, no account needed. It reads the open-access text and checks the sources it cites.

A few free checks a day · papers already verified open instantly · results are public

Integrity signals

Registry

Crossref · 10.1136/bmj.39429.619653.80

Cites

26 of 26 references verified0 citation errors · 0 not checkable

Statistics

Claims the paper makes

The claims and statistics of this paper haven’t been checked yet.

Run the check — free, no account needed. It reads the open-access text and checks the sources it cites.

A few free checks a day · papers already verified open instantly · results are public

Claims other papers make about this one

Each is checked against this paper’s own text: does it say what the citing paper says it does?

  • In a crossover, double-blind RCT comparing nabilone and dihydrocodeine for chronic neuropathic pain, the mean VAS score decreased to a greater extent in the group receiving nabilone first then dihydrocodeine, corresponding to an overall treatment effect of 5.6 mm (95% CI 0.8-10.3, p=0.023).

    “The mean VAS score decreased to a greater extent in the group receiving nabilone first then dihydrocodeine, which corresponded to an overall treatment effect of 5.6 mm (95% confidence interval [CI] 0.8-10.3,p=0.023).”

    From Nabilone for the Management of Pain (2016) · cites this paper as [15]

    Split into 2 atoms — 0 confirmed, 2 partially supported, 0 disputed, 0 misattributed, 0 unverifiable. Expand the claim to see per-atom verdicts.

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • Neither nabilone nor dihydrocodeine reduced pain by a clinically significant amount (>10-mm drop in VAS) in half of the study population.

    “Neither treatment at the end of the treatment period reduced pain by a clinically significant amount (i.e., > 10-mm drop in VAS) in half of the study population.”

    From Nabilone for the Management of Pain (2016) · cites this paper as [15]

    The Results report that 49 of 64 patients in the per-protocol analysis had no clinically relevant (>10-mm) drop in pain score on either treatment. That supports the claim that neither drug achieved this reduction for many patients, but the reported proportion was about 77%, not half, and it applies to the per-protocol group rather than the full study population. (LLM, conf=0.90)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • In the RCT comparing nabilone and dihydrocodeine, improvements in anxiety and sleep were comparable between groups.

    “In the RCT comparing NABILONE FOR PAIN MANAGEMENT Tsang and Giudice 281 nabilone and dihydrocodeine, improvements in anxiety and sleep were comparable between groups.15”

    From Nabilone for the Management of Pain (2016) · cites this paper as [15]

    Table 3 (page not specified in our copy) reports no statistically significant between-drug differences in sleep or anxiety, supporting the comparison. It does not establish that either treatment improved those outcomes, so the claim’s reference to comparable improvements goes beyond the reported results. (LLM, conf=0.86)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • Studies evaluating nabilone for pain management excluded patients with a history of psychiatric illness, severe organ disease, epilepsy/seizures, and a history of substance abuse or dependence.

    “Studies evaluating nabilone for pain management excluded patients with a history of psychiatric illness (bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, psychosis, depression), severe organ disease (heart, liver, or kidney), epilepsy/seizures, and a history of substance abuse or dependence.[15][16][17][19][20][21]”

    From Nabilone for the Management of Pain (2016) · cites this paper as [15]

    The Participants and setting section (page not specified) says the trial excluded patients with severe hepatic or renal disease, epilepsy, bipolar disorder, psychosis, or a history of substance misuse. It does not list heart disease, schizophrenia, or depression as exclusion criteria, so this source supports only part of the cited sentence. (LLM, conf=0.87)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • Reported adverse drug reactions were generally mild to moderate in intensity, and few serious ADRs were reported.

    “Reported adverse drug reactions (ADRs) were generally mild to moderate in intensity, and few serious ADRs were reported.[15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22]25”

    From Nabilone for the Management of Pain (2016) · cites this paper as [15]

    The Results (page not specified in our copy) state that no major adverse events occurred with either drug, supporting the claim that serious reactions were few. The Outcome measurements section describes a side-effect questionnaire, but the paper does not classify reported reactions as generally mild to moderate in intensity. (LLM, conf=0.87)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured

Self-check

Percentages, sums and reported differences re-computed from the paper’s own numbers.

The self-check needs the paper’s full text.

Cites

Flagged first, then by citations

Cited by

Sorted by citations

Authors
Frank, B., Serpell, M. G., Hughes, J., Matthews, J. N. S., & Kapur, D.
Affiliations
  • Royal Victoria Infirmary (GB)
  • James Cook University Hospital (GB)
  • Flinders Medical Centre (AU)
Corresponding author
Frank, B
Venue
BMJ
Publisher
BMJ
Published
2008-01-08
Volume
336
Issue
7637
Pages
199-201
ISSN
  • 0007-1447 (ISSN-L)
  • 0959-8138
  • 1468-5833
OpenAlex
W1993981100
Cited by
207
References
26
Citations by year
2026: 4 · 2025: 7 · 2024: 6 · 2023: 4 · 2022: 18 · 2021: 12 · 2020: 13 · 2019: 11 · 2018: 18 · 2017: 17 · 2016: 6 · 2015: 11 · 2014: 14 · 2013: 8 · 2012: 15
FWCI
17.33
Type
journal article
Language
en
Open access
Locations
  • BMJ (publishedVersion)
  • PubMed Central (publishedVersion)
  • PubMed (publishedVersion)
  • ENLIGHTEN (Jurnal Bimbingan dan Konseling Islam) (acceptedVersion)
  • HighWire Press Open Archive (submittedVersion)
  • Newcastle University ePrints (Newcastle Univesity)
Funders
University of Glasgow
Topics
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine › Pain Management and Opioid Use
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Pharmacology › Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Physiology › Pain Mechanisms and Treatments
Keywords
nabilone, dihydrocodeine, chronic neuropathic pain, synthetic cannabinoids, opioid analgesics, analgesic efficacy, tolerability, adverse effects, analgesia, mood, quality of life, sleep
MeSH terms
Adult, Aged, Aged, 80 and over, Analgesics, Opioid, Chronic Disease, Codeine, Double-Blind Method, Humans, Middle Aged, Pain, Dronabinol, Treatment Outcome, Cross-Over Studies

About these checks

Registry, retraction, Cites and statistics results are computed, not judged, with one exception: a printed reference that no index lists is read once by a model before it counts as a citation error. Claims are extracted by a model and kept only when their quote appears verbatim in the text; each cited source is then checked, with a model’s help, for whether it says what the claim relies on. Those verdicts can be wrong — read the claim’s quote and the cited source before relying on one.

Statistics and arithmetic are recomputed, not judged.

Confidence bands are shown only for fields calibrated on our annotated test set. None is calibrated yet, so no band is shown.

What counts as a claim ›How we measure confidence ›How we check this ›

Are you an author, or do you see a problem with this page? Request a review