Cited by 5,618Chronic Kidney Disease and DiabetesDiabetes Treatment and ManagementAcute Kidney Injury Research

Dapagliflozin in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease

Open access
Heerspink, Hiddo J.L., Stefánsson, Bergur V., Correa-Rotter, Ricardo, Chertow, Glenn M., Greene, Tom, Hou, Fan-Fan, Mann, Johannes F.E., McMurray, John J.V. +6 more·2020·New England Journal of Medicine

Abstract

Trial of dapagliflozin in chronic kidney disease with or without type 2 diabetes.

Integrity signals

Registry

Crossref · 10.1056/nejmoa2024816

Cites

23 of 23 references verified0 citation errors · 0 not checkable

Statistics

Nothing to recompute.

Claims the paper makes

12 of 16 cited sources checked · 11 supported · 0 flagged · accuracy not yet measured

  • Premisecitation

    Prior work, the CREDENCE trial, showed kidney-protective effects of SGLT2 inhibitors in patients with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease.

    “The kidney-protective effects of SGLT2 inhibitors have previously been shown in patients with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease in the CREDENCE trial.10”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim1 of 1 sources checked
    • cites [10] 10. Perkovic V, Jardine MJ, Neal B, et al. Canagliflozin and renal outcomes in type 2 diabetes and nephropathy. N Engl J Med 2019; 380: 2295-306. source
  • Interpretationcitation

    The lower risk of heart-failure hospitalization or cardiovascular death with dapagliflozin is consistent with the DECLARE-TIMI 58 and DAPA-HF trials.

    “The lower risk of hospitalization for heart failure or death from cardiovascular causes in the dapagliflozin group than in the placebo group is consistent with the results of two previous trials of dapagliflozin, the DECLARE-TIMI 58 (Dapagliflozin Effect on Cardiovascular Events-Thrombolysis in Myocardial Infarction 58) and DAPA-HF (Dapagliflozin and Prevention of Adverse Outcomes in Heart Failure”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim2 of 2 sources checked
    • cites [9] 9. Wiviott SD, Raz I, Bonaca MP, et al. Dapagliflozin and cardiovascular out- comes in type 2 diabetes. N Engl J Med 2019; 380: 347-57. source
    • cites [18] 18. McMurray JJV, Solomon SD, Inzucchi SE, et al. Dapagliflozin in patients with heart failure and reduced ejection fraction. N Engl J Med 2019; 381: 1995-2008. source
  • Premisecitation

    In the CREDENCE trial, long-term canagliflozin protected against renal and cardiovascular events among patients with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease.

    “The CREDENCE (Canagliflozin and Renal Events in Diabetes with Established Nephropathy Clinical Evaluation) trial showed that long-term administration of canagliflozin conferred renal and cardiovascular protection in patients with type 2 diabetes with chronic kidney disease.10”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim1 of 1 sources checked
    • cites [10] 10. Perkovic V, Jardine MJ, Neal B, et al. Canagliflozin and renal outcomes in type 2 diabetes and nephropathy. N Engl J Med 2019; 380: 2295-306. source
  • Findingcitation

    As in other SGLT2 inhibitor trials, there was an initial dip in estimated GFR followed by stabilization of kidney-function decline.

    “As in other trials of SGLT2 inhibitors, there was an initial dip in the estimated GFR, followed by a stabilization of kidney-function decline.7,8,10”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim3 of 3 sources checked
    • cites [7] 7. Wanner C, Inzucchi SE, Lachin JM, et al. Empagliflozin and progression of kid- ney disease in type 2 diabetes. N Engl J Med 2016; 375: 323-34. source
    • cites [8] 8. Neal B, Perkovic V, Mahaffey KW, et al. Canagliflozin and cardiovascular and renal events in type 2 diabetes. N Engl J Med 2017; 377: 644-57. source

      The Renal Outcomes section reports fewer sustained 40% eGFR reductions with canagliflozin than with placebo, supporting a general kidney-protective effect. It does not report an initial eGFR dip followed by stabilization of the rate of decline; searches for those terms and for longitudinal eGFR changes found no such passage in our copy. Page numbers were not available for these passages. (LLM, conf=0.78)

      Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
    • cites [10] 10. Perkovic V, Jardine MJ, Neal B, et al. Canagliflozin and renal outcomes in type 2 diabetes and nephropathy. N Engl J Med 2019; 380: 2295-306. source
  • Premisecitation

    Clinical trials of other SGLT2 inhibitors have shown similar results.

    “Clinical trials of other SGLT2 inhibitors have shown similar results.8,10,19”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim3 of 3 sources checked
    • cites [8] 8. Neal B, Perkovic V, Mahaffey KW, et al. Canagliflozin and cardiovascular and renal events in type 2 diabetes. N Engl J Med 2017; 377: 644-57. source
    • cites [10] 10. Perkovic V, Jardine MJ, Neal B, et al. Canagliflozin and renal outcomes in type 2 diabetes and nephropathy. N Engl J Med 2019; 380: 2295-306. source
    • cites [19] 19. Zinman B, Wanner C, Lachin JM, et al. Empagliflozin, cardiovascular outcomes, and mortality in type 2 diabetes. N Engl J Med 2015; 373: 2117-28. source
  • Classified as probably not a substantial claim. 15
  • May combine two claims. 16
  • The quote only partly states this claim. 1
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Premisecitation

    In the CREDENCE trial and most earlier cardiovascular outcome trials of SGLT2 inhibitors, the lower inclusion cutoff for estimated GFR was 30 ml/min/1.73 m2.

    “In that trial, as in most previous cardiovascular outcome trials of SGLT2 inhibitors, the lower estimated GFR cutoff for inclusion was 30 ml per minute per 1.73 m 2 .16”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim1 of 1 sources checked
    • cites [16] 16. Neuen BL, Young T, Heerspink HJL, et al. SGLT2 inhibitors for the prevention of kidney failure in patients with type 2 dia- betes: a systematic review and meta-analy- sis. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol 2019; 7: 845-54. source
  • May combine two claims.

    Study design and conductown data

    The trial did not collect estimated GFR values after completion and cannot determine whether the initial dip in estimated GFR is reversible after dapagliflozin discontinuation.

    “We did not collect estimated GFR values after the completion of the trial and are unable to ascertain whether the initial dip in the estimated GFR is reversible after the discontinuation of dapagliflozin, as observed in other dapagliflozin studies.20”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim1 of 1 sources checked
    • cites [20] 20. Pollock C, Stefánsson B, Reyner D, et al. Albuminuria-lowering effect of dapa- gliflozin alone and in combination with saxagliptin and effect of dapagliflozin and saxagliptin on glycaemic control in patients with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease (DELIGHT): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol 2019; 7: 429- 41. source
  • The quote only partly states this claim.

    Findingown data

    Dapagliflozin's effect on the primary endpoint was broadly consistent across prespecified subgroups, including among those with and without type 2 diabetes.

    “The effects of dapagliflozin were similar in participants with type 2 diabetes and in those without type 2 diabetes.”
    • Also stated in: § Efficacy Outcomes · hedged
      “The effect of dapagliflozin on the primary outcome was generally consistent across prespecified subgroups (Fig. 2).”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Findingown data

    Diabetic ketoacidosis occurred in no dapagliflozin recipients and in two placebo recipients.

    “Diabetic ketoacidosis was not reported in any participants who received dapagliflozin and in two participants who received placebo.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Findingown data

    In participants without type 2 diabetes, neither diabetic ketoacidosis nor severe hypoglycemia was observed.

    “Neither diabetic ketoacidosis nor severe hypoglycemia was observed in participants without type 2 diabetes.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Findingown data

    Follow-up lasted a median of 2.4 years (interquartile range, 2.0 to 2.7).

    “At the conclusion of the trial, the median follow-up was 2.4 years (interquartile range, 2.0 to 2.7).”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Findingown data

    One confirmed case of Fournier's gangrene occurred in the placebo group and none in the dapagliflozin group.

    “There was one confirmed case of Fournier's gangrene in the placebo group and none in the dapagliflozin group.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Classified as probably not a substantial claim. May combine two claims.

    Findingown data

    Citing clear efficacy and 408 primary outcome events, the independent data monitoring committee advised that the trial be stopped.

    “After a regular review meeting on March 26, 2020, the independent data monitoring committee recommended to the two coprincipal investigators (the first and last authors) that the trial be discontinued because of clear efficacy, on the basis of 408 primary outcome events.”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Findingown data

    The present trial studied an SGLT2 inhibitor in CKD patients, 32.5% of whom did not have type 2 diabetes and 14.5% of whom had estimated GFR below 30 ml/min/1.73 m2.

    “In contrast to the CREDENCE trial, the present trial examined the effects of an SGLT2 inhibitor in patients with chronic kidney disease of whom 32.5% did not have type 2 diabetes and 14.5% had an estimated GFR below 30 ml per minute per 1.73 m 2 .”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Findingown data

    After the first two weeks, the annual change in mean estimated GFR was smaller with dapagliflozin than placebo (−1.67 vs −3.59 ml/min/1.73 m2), with a between-group difference of 1.92 ml/min/1.73 m2 per year (95% CI 1.61-2.24).

    “Thereafter, the annual change in the mean estimated GFR was smaller with dapagliflozin than with placebo (-1.67±0.11and -3.59±0.11ml per minute per 1.73 m 2 , respectively), for a between-group difference of 1.92 ml per minute per 1.73 m 2 per year (95% CI, 1.61 to 2.24).”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Findingown data

    Dapagliflozin recipients also had a lower risk of cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization and longer survival.

    “In addition, those who received dapagliflozin had a lower risk of death from cardiovascular causes or hospitalization for heart failure and had longer survival.”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • Classified as probably not a substantial claim.

    Study design and conductown data

    Power calculations indicated that 681 primary events were required to detect a 22% relative risk reduction (hazard ratio 0.78) with 90% power at a two-sided alpha of 0.05, assuming a 7.5% yearly placebo event rate.

    “We estimated that 681 primary outcome events would be needed to detect a 22% lower relative risk in the dapagliflozin group than in the placebo group (hazard ratio of 0.78), with 90% power using a two-sided alpha level of 0.05 and assuming an annual event rate for the primary outcome of 7.5% in the placebo group.”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Premisecitation

    Before this trial, only ACE inhibitors and angiotensin-receptor blockers had been shown to slow kidney function decline, but most supporting evidence came from patients with type 2 diabetes.

    “Until recently, the only classes of medication that have been shown to slow a decline in kidney function were angiotensin-convertingenzyme (ACE) inhibitors and angiotensin-receptor blockers (ARBs); however, most of the evidence was generated in patients with type 2 diabetes.[3][4][5][6]”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim0 of 1 sources checked
    • cites [3][4][5][6]

      Couldn’t be matched to a paper in Crossref, so it can’t be checked.

  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing). May combine two claims.

    Study design and conductnone given

    The first and last authors attest to the data's completeness and accuracy and to the trial's adherence to its protocol.

    “The first and last authors vouch for the completeness and accuracy of the data and for the fidelity of the trial to the protocol.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Interpretationown data

    The present trial's findings confirm the high mortality among patients with impaired kidney function.

    “The findings from the present trial confirm the high mortality among patients with impaired kidney function.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Study design and conductown data

    All participants and trial staff, apart from the independent data monitoring committee, remained blinded to group assignments.

    “Participants and all trial personnel (except the members of the independent data monitoring committee) were unaware of the trial-group assignments.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Premisecitation

    In large trials of patients with type 2 diabetes, SGLT2 inhibitors reduced glycated hemoglobin and improved kidney and cardiovascular outcomes.

    “Sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT2) inhibitors decrease glycated hemoglobin levels and have shown favorable effects on kidney and cardiovascular outcomes in large clinical trials involving patients with type 2 diabetes.[7][8][9]”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim0 of 1 sources checked
    • cites [7][8][9]

      Couldn’t be matched to a paper in Crossref, so it can’t be checked.

  • May combine two claims.

    Study design and conductown data

    By the end, 4289 participants (99.7%) had completed the trial; 11 (0.3%) withdrew consent, and vital status was missing for only 5 (0.1%).

    “In all, 4289 participants (99.7%) completed the trial (i.e., were alive with follow-up data available at the trial completion visit or had died during follow-up).A total of 11 participants (0.3%) withdrew consent, and vital status was ascertained for all but 5 participants (0.1%).”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Study design and conductown data

    An independent data monitoring committee monitored participant safety.

    “The safety of the participants was overseen by an independent data monitoring committee.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Classified as probably not a substantial claim.

    Study design and conductnone given

    Primary efficacy was analyzed in the intention-to-treat population.

    “The primary efficacy analysis was based on the intention-to-treat population”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Study design and conductown data

    Trial-group assignments were determined through an interactive voice-response or Web-response system.

    “Investigators used an interactive voice-response or Web-response system to determine trial-group assignments.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Study design and conductown data

    A blinded independent committee adjudicated all primary and secondary outcomes, except some estimated GFR outcomes obtained from central laboratory measurements.

    “An independent committee whose members were unaware of the trial-group assignments adjudicated all primary and secondary outcomes, except for a sustained decline in the estimated GFR of at least 50% and a sustained estimated GFR of less than 15 ml per minute per 1.73 m 2 , which were ascertained from central laboratory measurements.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing). May combine two claims.

    Study design and conductown data

    Stratification factors at randomization were type 2 diabetes status and urinary albumin-to-creatinine ratio (≤1000 or >1000).

    “Randomization was stratified according to the diagnosis of type 2 diabetes (yes or no) and the urinary albumin-to-creatinine ratio (≤1000 or >1000).”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • May combine two claims.

    Interpretationown data

    The kidney-protective effects of SGLT2 inhibitors extend to the broader CKD population without type 2 diabetes, for whom ACE inhibitors are the only pharmacologic treatments shown to prevent kidney failure.

    “Our trial confirms that the kidneyprotective effects of SGLT2 inhibitors extend to the broader population of persons with chronic kidney disease without type 2 diabetes, for whom ACE inhibitors are the only pharmacologic treatments that have been shown to prevent kidney failure.3,4”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim0 of 2 sources checked
    • cites [3] 3. Ruggenenti P, Perna A, Gherardi G, et al. Renoprotective properties of ACE-inhi- bition in non-diabetic nephropathies with non-nephrotic proteinuria. Lancet 1999; 354: 359-64. source
    • cites [4] 4. Hou FF, Zhang X, Zhang GH, et al. Efficacy and safety of benazepril for ad- vanced chronic renal insufficiency. N Engl J Med 2006; 354: 131-40. source
  • May combine two claims.

    Study design and conductown data

    The trial was randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, and multicenter.

    “Our trial was a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter clinical trial; details regarding the trial design and baseline characteristics of the participants have been published previously.14,15”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Study design and conductnone given

    An independent academic group at the University Medical Center Groningen repeated the sponsor's analyses.

    “The analyses that were conducted by the sponsor were replicated by an independent academic group at the University Medical Center Groningen.”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
  • Classified as probably not a substantial claim. May combine two claims.

    Study design and conductnone given

    The dapagliflozin and placebo tablets had identical packaging, appearance, labeling, and administration schedules.

    “Dapagliflozin and placebo were packaged identically, with uniform tablet appearance, labeling, and administration schedules.”
    Quote in the paperSubstantial claim
  • Probably not a substantial claim: may not pass S3 (load-bearing).

    Study design and conductown data

    Non-death discontinuation occurred in 274 dapagliflozin recipients and 309 placebo recipients (12.7% and 14.4%, respectively).

    “Dapagliflozin was discontinued for reasons other than death in 274 participants, and placebo was discontinued in 309 participants (12.7% and 14.4%, respectively).”
    Quote in the paperNot a substantial claim
28 of 28
  • The paper relies on this without support.

    At the time of the study, it was unknown how dapagliflozin would affect people with chronic kidney disease, whether or not they had type 2 diabetes.

    “The effect of dapagliflozin in patients with chronic kidney disease, with or without type 2 diabetes, is not known.”
  • The paper relies on this without support.

    The early fall in estimated GFR is due to beneficial hemodynamic effects in the glomerulus.

    “This dip in the estimated GFR reflects favorable hemodynamic changes in the glomerulus.”
2 of 2

Claims other papers make about this one

Each is checked against this paper’s own text: does it say what the citing paper says it does?

  • In the DAPA-CKD trial, among 4304 participants with chronic kidney disease, dapagliflozin reduced the primary composite outcome of a sustained decline in eGFR of at least 50%, end-stage kidney disease, or death from renal or CV causes by 44% (HR, 0.56 [95% CI 0.45-0.68]; P < 0.001).

    “Among 4304 participants, with or without type 2 diabetes, with an eGFR between 25 and 75 mL/min/1.73 m2 and proteinuria (a urinary albumin-to-creatinine ratio of 22.6-565.6 mg/mmol) who were randomly assigned to dapagliflozin 10 mg daily or placebo, the primary composite outcome of a sustained decline in eGFR of at least 50%, end-stage kidney disease, or death from renal or CV causes was reduced”

    From CCS/CHFS Heart Failure Guidelines Update: Defining a New Pharmacologic Standard of Care for Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection Fraction (2021) · cites this paper as [50]

    Split into 2 atoms — 0 confirmed, 1 partially supported, 1 disputed, 0 misattributed, 0 unverifiable. Expand the claim to see per-atom verdicts.

    Checked by a reasoning model — may be wrong.

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • The DAPA-CKD trial of dapagliflozin required participants to have a urinary ACR of 200 mg/g and an eGFR of 25 to 75 ml per minute per 1.73 m2, and included 1398 participants without diabetes and 624 participants with an eGFR below 30 ml per minute per 1.73 m2.

    “The DAPA-CKD trial of dapagliflozin required participants to have a urinary ACR of 200 mg/g and an eGFR of 25 to 75 ml per minute per 1.73 m2. It included 1398 participants without diabetes and 624 participants with an eGFR below 30 ml per minute per 1.73 m2.7”

    From Empagliflozin in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease (2023) · cites this paper as [7]

    Split into 2 atoms — 1 confirmed, 1 partially supported, 0 disputed, 0 misattributed, 0 unverifiable. Expand the claim to see per-atom verdicts.

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • In DAPA-CKD, all-cause mortality was decreased in the dapagliflozin group compared with the placebo group (P < 0.004).

    “Finally, all-cause mortality was decreased in the dapagliflozin group compared with the placebo group (P < 0.004).”

    From 11. Chronic Kidney Disease and Risk Management: Standards of Care in Diabetes—2025 (2025) · cites this paper as [114]

    The Efficacy Outcomes section reports fewer deaths from any cause with dapagliflozin than with placebo (101 versus 146), supporting the mortality comparison. It reports P = 0.004, however, not P < 0.004 as claimed. (LLM, conf=0.88)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • SGLT2 inhibitors and finerenone reduce albuminuria in clinical trials of advanced diabetic kidney disease.

    “SGLT2 inhibitors and finerenone, a nonsteroidal mineralocorticoid receptor antagonist, also reduce albuminuria in clinical trials of advanced diabetic kidney disease (471-473).”

    From Guidelines and Recommendations for Laboratory Analysis in the Diagnosis and Management of Diabetes Mellitus (2023) · cites this paper as [472]

    The Participants and Discussion sections describe a clinical trial of dapagliflozin, an SGLT2 inhibitor, in people with chronic kidney disease, including those with type 2 diabetes. The reported benefit concerns kidney and cardiovascular outcomes; the paper does not report that dapagliflozin reduced albuminuria, and it does not address finerenone. (LLM, conf=0.81)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured
  • In the CREDENCE and DAPA-CKD trials, kidney outcomes were the primary outcome evaluated.

    “Of note, in the CREDENCE and DAPA-CKD trials, kidney outcomes were the primary outcome evaluated.”

    From KDIGO 2022 Clinical Practice Guideline for Diabetes Management in Chronic Kidney Disease (2022) · cites this paper as [94]

    The Efficacy Outcomes section identifies DAPA-CKD’s primary outcome as a composite of kidney outcomes and death from renal or cardiovascular causes. The Discussion says CREDENCE showed kidney-protective effects, but does not state that kidney outcomes were its primary outcome. Thus, the cited paper supports the DAPA-CKD portion but not the specific claim about CREDENCE’s primary outcome. (LLM, conf=0.84)

    Experimental — accuracy not yet measured

Cites

Flagged first, then by citations

Cited by

Sorted by citations

Authors
Heerspink, H. J. L., Stefánsson, B. V., Correa-Rotter, R., Chertow, G. M., Greene, T., Hou, F.-F., Mann, J. F. E., McMurray, J. J. V., Lindberg, M., Rossing, P., Sjöström, C. D., Toto, R. D., Langkilde, A.-M., & Wheeler, D. C.
Affiliations
  • University Medical Center Groningen (NL)
  • From the Department Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacology, University of Groningen, University Medical Center Groningen, Groningen, the Netherlands (H.J.L.H.); the George Institute for Global Health, Sydney (H.J.L.H., D.C.W.); Late-Stage Development, Cardiovascular, Renal, and Metabolism, BioPharmaceuticals R&amp;D, AstraZeneca, Gothenburg, Sweden (B.V.S., M.L., C.D.S., A.-M.L.); the National Medical Science and Nutrition Institute Salvador Zubirán, Mexico City (R.C.-R.); the Departments of Medicine...
  • University of Copenhagen (DK)
Venue
New England Journal of Medicine
Published
2020-10-08
Volume
383
Issue
15
Pages
1436-1446
ISSN
  • 0028-4793 (ISSN-L)
  • 1533-4406
OpenAlex
W3088173406
Cited by
5,618
References
20
Citations by year
2026: 1014 · 2025: 987 · 2024: 978 · 2023: 967 · 2022: 824 · 2021: 743 · 2020: 94 · 2014: 1 · 2013: 1 · 2012: 2
FWCI
412.33
Type
journal article
Language
en
Open access
Locations
  • New England Journal of Medicine (publishedVersion)
  • PubMed (publishedVersion)
  • Research at the University of Copenhagen (University of Copenhagen) (publishedVersion, other-oa)
  • ENLIGHTEN (Jurnal Bimbingan dan Konseling Islam) (acceptedVersion, cc-by-sa)
  • Dipòsit Digital de la Universitat de Barcelona (Universitat de Barcelona) (submittedVersion, public-domain)
  • UCL Discovery (University College London) (submittedVersion)
  • University of Groningen research database (University of Groningen / Centre for Information Technology) (submittedVersion, other-oa)
Funders
AstraZeneca
Topics
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Nephrology › Chronic Kidney Disease and Diabetes
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism › Diabetes Treatment and Management
  • Health Sciences › Medicine › Nephrology › Acute Kidney Injury Research
Keywords
chronic kidney disease, SGLT2 inhibitors, type 2 diabetes, estimated glomerular filtration rate decline, end-stage renal disease, cardiovascular mortality, heart failure hospitalization, albuminuria, renal outcomes, drug safety, body surface area dosing, albumin-creatinine ratio
MeSH terms
Sodium-Glucose Transporter 2 Inhibitors, Aged, Benzhydryl Compounds, Cardiovascular Diseases, Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2, Diabetic Nephropathies, Female, Glomerular Filtration Rate, Glucosides, Humans, Kidney Failure, Chronic, Male, Middle Aged, Regression Analysis, Renal Insufficiency, Chronic, Kaplan-Meier Estimate

About these checks

Registry, retraction, Cites and statistics results are computed, not judged, with one exception: a printed reference that no index lists is read once by a model before it counts as a citation error. Claims are extracted by a model and kept only when their quote appears verbatim in the text; each cited source is then checked, with a model’s help, for whether it says what the claim relies on. Those verdicts can be wrong — read the claim’s quote and the cited source before relying on one.

Claims read under definition version 3 (extract-v3) on 2026-09-28.

Classified by jev-1.13-20260917 (gold-guideline-v0.2) on 2026-09-28.

Cited sources are checked by gpt-6-sol.

Statistics and arithmetic are recomputed, not judged.

Confidence bands are shown only for fields calibrated on our annotated test set. None is calibrated yet, so no band is shown.

What counts as a claim ›How we measure confidence ›How we check this ›

Are you an author, or do you see a problem with this page? Request a review